Jazz Clarinetist of the Year

The Jazz Clarinetist of the Year Anat Cohen has won the honor eight years in a row from 2007-2014.  This honor is given out by The Jazz Journalist Association.


Get your copy of Bumblebee Loops here (on Kindle it is next to nothing).  Ratings change hourly, but this week it hit No. 1 Brass Instrument Music, No. 1 Woodwind Instrument Music, and No. 4 on String Instrument Music. See exercise videos in right column.

Finalists for the JJA Jazz Awards honor excellence in music-making and music documentation. These musicians are nominated by 60 professional Jazz Journalists Association members. 

Following is a list of winners in past years. If you see “none” next to a year, either no-one was nominated and/or the clarinetist category was not developed.

You might notice a little consistency on this list.  Anat Cohen has won Jazz Clarinetist of the Year from 2007-2023.

Anat Cohen Jazz Clarinetist Recordings

2023 - Anat Cohen

2022 - Anat Cohen

2021 - Anat Cohen

2020 - Anat Cohen

2019 - Anat Cohen

2018 - Anat Cohen

2017 - Anat Cohen

2016 - Anat Cohen

2015 - Anat Cohen

2014 - Anat Cohen

2013 - Anat Cohen

2012 - Anat Cohen

2011 - Anat Cohen

2010 - Anat Cohen

2009 - Anat Cohen

2008 - Anat Cohen

2007 - Anat Cohen

2006 - none

2005 - Don Byron

2004 - none

2003 - Marty Ehrlich

2002 - Don Byron

2001 – “Winds and Reeds of the Year” Marty Ehrlich (saxophones, clarinets, and flutes)

1997-2000 No evidence of wind or clarinet awards given these years.

Video of Anat Cohen

This one features Anat Cohen with Paquito D’Rivera...

Visit Anat's website here.